Shifting Focus……nothing to do with a fancy lens :)

There are a lot of different ways to learn.  No need to list them everyone knows.  For us it seems that the best way has always been go do, make mistakes, do again, make more, and so on.  Photography and filmmaking have too many details to think your going to read a book that covers them all and then go make perfect work.  To us there is no better training grounds than weddings.  They are fast paced, stressful, and full of one chance scenarios to get your shot.  I see them as boot camp for any aspiring image maker.  They also teach so very well the other side of this business which is personal relationships with your clients.  Most brides are not used to being in front of a camera and getting them comfortable with you must happen before you get them comfortable with the camera.  Weddings are also the most abundant source of paid work for anyone starting out.  At first I saw weddings as a tool to help me make money to buy gear.  What happened is they taught me more than I could ever imagine.  Not only behind the camera but in post production as well.  So I guess we owe weddings a thank you.  We are not phasing them out of our working environment because we don’t like them.  Looking back through this reel I can’t help but smile and put myself back in those places in that time.  The bittersweet fact is all things change and we must change with them.  Cheers!

Dustin and Matt

Comments are closed.