Principal Photography of “A Deliberate Life”

THATS A WRAP!  I sit here in Jackson Wyoming recovering from an intense 10 day shoot that stretched from Oregon through Idaho to Montana.  We have been waist deep in four different beautiful rivers capturing the imagery for our film “A Deliberate Life”.    I want to talk about the film but instead I feel more inspired to talk about the amazing people that I had the chance to meet in the last 10 days.

It started in Boise, Idaho with “The Outdooress” Rebecca Garlock.  A beautiful person inside and out.  Rebecca has a contagious positive nature.  Always brandishing a giant smile even with putting up with a cold the entire week.  You always knew where Rebecca was.  Just listen for the cough 🙂

The next introduction was with Colby Hackbarth in Idaho Falls.  When the front door was opened behind it stood a giant of a man.  A man that wore a jaw that would gladly break your fist if they ever met.  Colby is one intimidating looking dude.  His outside appearance doesn’t really match his personality though.  Colby is a person that holds others needs above his own.  I think one of the very first things he ever said to me was a question directed at how he could make our jobs easier and get us the imagery that we wanted.  That offer was very graciously accepted to the tune of a fog covered jetboat ride bombing down the snake river at sunrise.  The imagery is beyond words!

The third introduction was Ross Slayton…..ahhhh Ross 🙂  A ball of energy that cannot be calmed.  Ross is literally buzzing with energy for people, life, and fishing.  I want to right here thank him for keeping his fishing demons at bay while we got the imagery we needed from him.  I know that was difficult for him to see the river and stay still while we did our thing.  Ross is a trout addict, wanting to understand everything that is tied to catching a trout.  Understanding the bugs the fish eat to how they use the river to their advantage.  It was an honor meeting Ross and feeding off of his energy.

This shoot was the longest continuos shoot I have yet to be on and I want to thank everyone who helped.  Some days were exhausting sometimes running through the night all the way to sunrise the next day just to start all over again.  To say I am excited about the assets we have in hand to start building this film is an understatement.  Look for a trailer this fall!  Here are a few more stills from the shoot.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 responses

  1. Debi Kruse

    Wow! Spectacular pics of an amazing adventure. Seeing the realness of the pics makes me feel as if I was there myself. Awesome work Matt.

    September 9, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  2. Josh Foley

    Matt, the still of Rebecca might just be my favorite portrait yet. Nice.

    September 9, 2012 at 8:52 pm

    • Me too man! She is full of smiles just like that one

      September 10, 2012 at 2:53 am

  3. I think the word assets is a mighty understatement bro, What you do is pure magic. You’ve left me speechless more often than you even know, and that ain’t no small feat! I know that someday I’m going to watch you collect an Oscar, SERIOUS!

    September 10, 2012 at 3:24 am

  4. “Eventually all things merge into one – and a river runs through it.”

    September 12, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Leave a Reply

