RockHouse Motion Meets RED Digital Cinema

 

RockHouse Motion meets RED Digital Cinema

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

“HD will never be good enough”  This is a phrase that I feel I hear in my sleep now!  Probably because I heard it said over and over this last week while attending REDucation at RED Studios Hollywood.  I had an amazing oppurtunity to sit in a room and listen to instructors that are working at the highest level of cinema and learn from their workflows.  This is actually the second time I have written this post.  The first time it ended being two pages long and barely scratching the surface of anything.  I chose to scratch that and basically just give a heads up on what RM will be offering moving forward this year.  We made a HUGE commitment and jumped head first into offering something much more to our clients.  HD will never be good enough is a phrase we too are adopting.  It’s time for the middle of the country to get the same quality that we see on the silver screen.  It’s time for the world we immerse ourselves in to be captured at the highest possible resolution the digital world offers.  In fact the only capture system higher than RED Digital Cinema is IMAX.  IMAX costs $6 a second to shoot!  Not practical, not even for unlimited budgets.  HD is essentially about 2MP.  A RED EPIC can shoot 120 14MP stills in a second at a 14 bit color depth!  I plan to write a completely independent post on the amazing and groundbreaking technology that truly is but for now I will just say AMAZING!  A crazy data rate out of something smaller than a toaster!  Aside from the RED experience Los Angeles is a curious town to me.  It is full of contrast.  Smells horrible/visually beautiful.  60 degrees/people wearing stocking caps and coats.  Homeless right next to ultra rich.  Everywhere you look there seems to be juxtaposition.  I will say it is awesome to be home and smell the natural world around me again 🙂  I am literally shaking with anticipation to start bringing this new technology to our own and our clients works.  Just when I feel things will slow down we take more leaps into the unknown.  Constant motion seems to be the only place I can relax.

Matt W.

2 responses

  1. You all never cease to amaze me, I find myself looking forward to seeing what you all are doing, and wanting to be a part of it! Keep up the good work!

    December 10, 2011 at 5:26 am

    • Thanks Sean! Believe me I would love to find a project to collaborate on 🙂

      December 10, 2011 at 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

