The Things We Don’t See

While hiking with Tess I came across something that for some reason affected me a great deal. After hiking for awhile I walked past a fencepost that I passed on the way in and something caught my eye. After walking over to the post I found a pheasants leg lying on top of the post. What a perfect and compelling example of natural selection in the prarie. I stood there trying to see back to the events leading up to a lone leg left on a post. What an experience it would have been to witness this hawk catching his prey. While I will probably never get to witness that in my life a leg left on a post will have to do. It reminded me that even though we can’t see extraordinary things everyday they are happening all around us at all times. We just need to open our eyes to the things we don’t see. Matt White

 

Leave a Reply

